Draft Field Trip

The draft was so fun!  I know that sounds crazy, because every one always goes on about how boring it is, but I really am totally pleased I went.  The arena was loud at times.  People booed Toronto.  And a lot of trades happened, which created a buzz in the building.  You could see some of the trades happen, even though you didn’t know exactly what the trade was.

My cousin getting drafted was one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen.  He went to Tampa and it’s pretty much the shit.  He’s a fantastic skater and really smart.  Him and Vinny Lecavalier are totally going to be BFF.  And it’s so nice and hot down there.  It will be fantastic to escape the cold Saskatchewan winters and get a tan.  I look good in that Tampa Bay blue too.  I’m so happy for him.  My cousin is completely rad and works so damn hard and he deserves this like crazy.  All you teams that didn’t pick him sooner are a bunch of losers. 

I was very relieved to see that the Canucks didn’t trade their 10th pick.  Cody Hodgson sounds fantastic.  He’s supposed to be future captain material and an extremely smart two way player.  Scouts seemed to stress that he wasn’t a fancy scorer, but I’d say 40 goals is still pretty damn good for a guy that’s not supposed to score a lot.  When his name was called, and he started to get up, he looked around just taking it all in.  That was pretty cool.

I have to admit, I didn’t know who Yann Sauve was when the Canucks called him in the second round,  but he sounds pretty cool too.  He plays tough and energetic and tries to model his game after Dion Phaneuf.  Now, I hate Dion Phaneuf with a never ending passion, but surely having a guy like Dion Phaneuf on your team is a good thing.  And Yann Sauve is definitely a more bitchin name than Dion. 

Gillis has this completely fabulous look on his face when he goes up to the podium to pick prospects.  It’s like this asshole angry face that is probably really scary up close.

The Canucks little runner kid that gives the dudes at the draft table their lunches and hands out papers and all that jazz was ballin.  He wore his Canucks hat backwards.  All the other runner kids looked like nerds next to him.

The last kid who was picked in the first round, handed his jacket to GARY BETTMAN!  It was freakin hilarious and is one of the top 10 best things I’ve ever seen in my life.

That’s about all I remember for right now, but it was fun weekend for sure.  I got to see my cousin go to a team I could really easily cheer for.  I met Pookie, Schnookie, Patty, Heather, and Meg who are just as awesome in person as on the internet.  And I ate way too much food and spent way too much money.  I can’t really complain at all.

8 thoughts on “Draft Field Trip

  1. You pretty much summed up a perfect weekend perfectly! I think I’m going to spend the rest of the summer involuntarily remarking aloud, “I can’t believe how much FUN the Draft is!” Of course, the fantastic company really helped. :D

  2. The fantastic company was really unbelievably fantastic! Thanks for making traffic jams and the Draft so much fun, alix! And congratulations again to your cousin!

  3. Loving Hodgson, and I already expected them to pick up a defencemen in the 2nd round (RIP Luc :( ).

    I was surprised with the goalie pick… though I guess you can never have enough? But, I was hoping we’d get another winger (left? I forgot which wing we were lacking.)

    But overall, pleased. I hope Froshaug turns out to be like… ZETTERBERG 2.0. That’d be extremely cool. :PPPPPPPPPPP haha jk. XD!

  4. I adore Hodgson too. There’s really nothing there to dislike. Yeah, I kind of guessed about the defenceman too. :( RIP

    The goalie thing kind of confused me too. I think a winger was a better choice. But it is Ian Clark’s son…so maybe that’s why. A little strange.

    Hee! I was totally thinking the same thing about Froshaug :P

Leave a Reply

