Day 2 Of The Silly Season

So, it turns out Mats Sundin is an enigma wrapped inside a sushi roll.  He’s still unsure if he wants to keep playing and get $20 million dollars.  Dude, I know the Canucks kind of suck at playing hockey, but it’s $20 million dollars!  I know the Canucks owners and management are giving off a very circus like vibe right now, but you played in Toronto for a billion years.  Is it really that out of the norm?  And you can live in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.  The main language in the dressing room will probably become Swedish.  We have all the Ikeas you could need.  But hey, the deal was pretty much balls to the wall crazy, and the Canucks shouldn’t really commit to that.  I’m just a little bummed because this probably would have got me Nazzy back.  Enjoy your summer, Mats! 

Do you think Gillis has a plan B?  He’s kind of scaring me.

It must be nice being a Detroit fan.  They just quietly make some low key signings to shore up their Cup winning team, and then decide to sign Marian Hossa, the most coveted UFA forward, for a little tiny bit more secondary scoring, and just kick the Pittsburgh Penguins in the ass one more time.  They are just disgusting (in a good way).

I thought I had come to terms with losing Nazzy and Mo, but the longer they go unsigned, the more they toy with me.  Just put me out of my misery, boys!  I read today that the Wild made an offer to Nazzy.  Boooo.  I would not take a liking to seeing him eight times a season in a Wild jersey.  Although Kirsten would take good care of him.

The Canucks signed Darcy Hordichuk, Ryan Johnson, and Nolan Baumgartner.  They also resigned Curtis Sanford to keep that bench nice and warm.

Darcy Hordichuk is a big slab of goon, and is a tough guy improvement over Jeff Cowan.  He’s a Saskatchewan boy, which always gets bonus points from me and apparently really wanted to move back to Canada.  He also has his own website that features fight highlights, which is pretty bitchin.

Ryan Johnson came from the Blues, and is very excited to play in Vancouver.  Poor boy.  He does know we’re a bit bananas at the moment, right?  He sounds like a fantastic energy guy.  Ryan Johnson led the league in blocked shots for a forward last season, and I’ve heard he’s a very speedy skater, good at faceoffs, and can rock out on the penalty kill.  If Ryan Shannon sticks with the big club next season, we now have three guys named Ryan on the team.

Nolan Baumgartner has spent a bunch of time in the AHL, but has played for the Canucks back in the day, and for some other NHL teams.  I think Baumer’s adorable, and I’m really glad he’s back with the Canucks.  He’ll be an affordable seventh defencemen, that shouldn’t look out of place logging some minutes when one of our bubble boy d-men go down. 

I guess this means Aaron Miller isn’t coming back.  I always liked Miller, he seemed like a good guy in the room.  I wish him luck wherever he ends up.

I’m pleased that Sanford was resigned.  He seems to really enjoy being in Vancouver, and was solid last year.  He had a couple of bad games, (who on the Canucks didn’t last season?) but I still liked what he brought.

Our bottom six forwards are improved and grritier with Darcy Hordichuk and Ryan Johnson.  It’s just too bad they don’t score any goals.  And it’s too bad our top six forwards are a rather incomplete mess.  But there’s still a bunch of time left in the silly season.  I’m not feeling confident, but I’m not pushing the panic button and guzzling alcohol yet either.

I just noticed this is my 100th post.  I thought I was only going to keep up with a blog for a week, but what do you know.  Thanks to everyone that’s stopped by to read and comment.  This wouldn’t have been half as much fun without you.

2 thoughts on “Day 2 Of The Silly Season

  1. Woo Hoo! 100 posts! Congrats, alix!

    Hope you get your Naslund back, I know how much you like your Swedes. Plus the ‘Nucks need to keep all the scorers they can. Who knows what’s going on with Sundin, he needs to make up his mind though!

  2. Aww! Thanks, Andrew!

    Too bad it didn’t work out keeping my second favourite Swede. But thems the breaks. I hear that Tavares kid is good…

Leave a Reply

