100 Things about Your Humble Blogger And A Few Hockey Things Too

First, the hockey things. 

-Cody Hodgson and Yann Sauve are skating their cute little butts off at the Hockey Canada development camp for the World Juniors this week.  They have both collected a couple of goals and assists in the scrimmages, and I heard Sauve has been pushing guys around.  Good stuff.  Go little baby Canucks Go.

-Steve Tambellini is now the Oilers GM.  While it kind of feels like another guy is jumping ship, good for him.  It kind of sucks it had to be the Oilers he went to, but oh well.  It was probably the best move for both the Canucks and Tamby.  I’m no insider, but I imagine Tamby was not too pleased about being passed over for Gillis, and it might have made things a little uncomfortable.  I wish him luck with the Oilers.

-This does not please me. 

Barry said there have not been any discussions to date on an extension for Ohlund. The 31-year-old defenceman, now the senior member of the team, will earn $3.5 million this season.

From Elliot Pap’s article in the Vancouver Sun.  Gillis better get on this or he’ll make this Canucks blogger cry.

-The Lightning had their development camp in Victoria, and I went to watch the scrimmages this week.  It was great to see some actual hockey in July, and those boys can sure skate. 

All of the coolest of the cool kids bloggers are making lists of a “100 things” to pass the time of the off season.  A list of any 100 things about yourself.  I stole the idea from the fabulous Heather B over at Top Shelf.  Here are my first 25 things.

  1. I’m hopelessly addicted to coffee.  If I don’t have a cup in the morning and a cup in the afternoon, I can’t function as a human being.  It’s a bad scene. 
  2. My favourite season is fall.
  3. I’m absolutely terrible at math. 
  4. I adore horses, and I’ve ridden them for over half my life.  My horse’s full name is Montego Bay, or Tego for short.  He also quite often gets called Button.
  5. Clowns scare me like nothing else. 
  6. I think defence is the foxiest position in hockey.
  7. One of the prettiest things in the world to me is a wide open prairie skyline.
  8. Crocs, flavoured creme brule, and pink hockey jerseys are crimes against humanity.
  9. I’m not a morning person.
  10. When I was little, I desperately wanted to be a jockey, and I was devastated when I had my growth spurt, and was way too tall.
  11. I think pigs are totally adorable and I have a bunch of silly pig related things in my house.
  12. I’m a real breakfast lover, and I could eat cereal at every meal.
  13. Even though it’s totally lame, I collect shot glasses from every new place I travel to.
  14. I’m a dog person.  My family has a golden retriever at home, and I’ve wanted to get a Boston Terrier for ages.  I quite often worry that I’ll fall in love with a dude that hates dogs.
  15. About every 3 months, I get bored with my hair and want to change it.  Right now it’s short and blonde, and it was dark brown for a year.  I want to dye it a different colour at the moment.
  16. When I’m flying, I have to have the aisle seat, otherwise I freak out the whole flight.
  17. I hate to drive.  I know I should just go and get my full licence, and I hate always having to ask people for rides, but I just don’t feel comfortable being in control of a car.
  18. I’m a fast reader.  Once when I had to get some career testing done, they tested my reading speed for shits and giggles.  I can read 522 words per minute.
  19. I have a horrible sense of direction.
  20. I’m a complete history nerd.  Especially the medieval period.
  21. I hate asking people for help.
  22. My favourite song of all time is Al Green’s Let’s Stay Together.
  23. I love Disneyland.  I could go there again and again.
  24. I don’t understand what’s so great about camping.  Sleeping on the ground, being cold all the time, getting covered in bugs, and having to eat off one of those stupid stoves?  I just don’t get it at all.
  25. I love hockey because of the game.  If the guys all looked like Frankenstein, I would still watch it religiously.  Having said that, here is my list of the 10 hottest bitches in the NHL.

Matty Ohlund

Vinny Lecavalier

Markus Naslund

Patrick Marleau

Niklas Lidstrom

Alex Burrows

Sammy Pahlsson

Kevin Bieksa

Mike Komisarek

Henrik Zetterberg

16 thoughts on “100 Things about Your Humble Blogger And A Few Hockey Things Too

  1. You sound a lottttt like me. It made me laugh. Dye your hair pink! My hair used to be pink and blond. I miss it. I hate driving. It’s too effing expensive. I’d rather buy really cute handbags. And I love that you love Al Green.

    Q Girl over at ofmooseandmenqmjhl.blogspot.com lovesss Yann.

  2. OMGAH 1-13!! I AM TOTALLY WITH YOU!! MY THOUGHTS EXACTLY!!

    and I wish I wasn’t so scared of dogs:( I love the dogs that I “know” but I am always afraid to pet any. I am such a baby like that!

  3. Pingback:   Sports,Travel,Uncategorized | 100 Thing to do about your humble blogger and a few hockey things to do. — Recycle Email

  4. wraparoundcurl, Awww! We’re twinsies! I really should dye my hair pink…Handbags are a very good thing to spend driving money on. Al Green is totally rad. Loooove him.

    Ooooh, more Yann love is always good :)

    M.J, sometimes unknown dogs can be scary for sure. And yay for being my twin on 1-13.

    Kirsten, thanks! I figured my list would end up being kind of boring but whatevah! It’s passing the time.

  5. I’m totally with you on 6 and 7.

    Chicks dig D, you know.

    And once I drove up through western Kansas and Nebraska and I bet it’s similar to the prairie in Western Canada. It was beautiful.

    Also, my new favorite thing at Chili’s is their little shot-glass desserts. You should make little cheesecakes in your shot-glass collection for your next party!

  6. I’m sure it will SHOCK you to know that I also love defense. I think Swedish d-men are particularly nice.

    I love fall. One of my favorite things about Buffalo compared to where I grew up is that there’s a much more distinct fall season.

  7. I cannot even begin to tell you how much I agree with you on the Crocs and pink jerseys front! I feel like I’ve once had a decent flavored creme brulee, but I can’t remember where or what it was. Isn’t that a great story?

    Can’t wait to read the other 75 things!

  8. The offseason is hard. You should become a baseball fan, it solves that.

    As I read you list and your disdain for camping, I’m packing to head up north and GO camping. I dunno what it is, but I like it. Fishing too.

  9. wrap, You should! I’m looking forward to reading your 100 things!

    Patty, that’s true. All the smart girls anyways.

    I’ve never driven through Nebraska and Kansas, but I bet it’s really similar.

    Those shot glass desserts sound delicious!

  10. Heather, I am absolutely SHOCKED about this news you’re telling me. I had NO idea!

    We’re totally on the same page about the selection of our favourite hot bitch NHLers.

    Fall is just gorgeous.

    Pookie, I’m so happy you feel the same way about crocs and pink jerseys. Maybe together we can get rid of them once and for all.

    I’m rather stunned you had a tasty flavoured creme brule, but I’ll take your word for it. I’ve tried lavender and maple and they were disgusting.

  11. Kirsten, I’ve toyed with starting to watch baseball. I looooove Justin Morneau(he’s a Canucks fan :) So maybe I should start watching the Twins.

    I just don’t get camping, but I know a ton of people that love it, so it’s all good! Have fun! And fishing I totally dig. It’ s so relaxing. But I just don’t actually like catching the fish and having to watch it flap around on the boat and all that jazz. I would probably be a horrible Minnesotian…

  12. Haha, you might be. Fishing and hockey are our state pastimes.

    YOU TOTALLY SHOULD. Justin Morneau is cute, awesome, talented, snarky, and entertaining. Justin Morneau is basically the coolest baseball player ever.

  13. thank you for the comment on the pink jerseys. they are a crime against life, hockey, and females everywhere. *unless they are specifically game worn and sold to raise money for breast cancer awareness, THEN and ONLY THEN I can be okay with pink jerseys.*

    and I don’t get crocs. The rest of my fam has succumbed but I remain above the influence. ;)

  14. Yup. They’re hideous. And you’re right, if they were fundraising I would deal with them.

    Yeah, half my friends have crocs but they still drive me nuts.

Leave a Reply

