What I’m Looking Forward To Next Season

In April, the Canucks season ended in pretty much the worst way possible.  They lost five or six games in a row, it seemed like half the roster was injured, and Lui was a basket case.  They missed the playoffs, and it sucked.  We lost some of my favourite guys later in the off season, which sucked.  I think I emptied my liquor cabinet in the process.  It didn’t exactly leave me delighted and excited to start watching the guys again in October.  We needed a much needed break from each other.  But now I kind of miss them.  I’m still slightly nervous about how they’re going to score enough goals (and I will cry if Kevin Bieksa has to be traded), but I don’t think they will be quite as bad as people seem to believe.  I’m not convinced they are ready to go deep in the playoffs, but there are things I’m looking forward to.

  • A focused Lui that’s not worried about his wife and baby.  Lui is beautiful to watch when he is 100% on his game, and a happy Lui should get the Canucks a few extra wins by himself.
  • A healthier defence.  While the defence is rarely completely healthy, it couldn’t possibly be worse than last season. (Now I’ve probably jinxed them)  With a healthy d, the Canucks are so much harder to play against.  Matty Ohlund was on pace for a career year last season before he was injured, it would be lovely if he stayed healthy and accomplished that this season.  Then Mike Gillis would have to resign him.
  • Alex Edler and Mason Raymond being more mature and experienced.  I’m pumped to watch Mason Raymond for a full season, and Alex Edler should be used to the full NHL schedule now.
  • Getting to see if Big Bear really is the perfect fit for the Sedins everyone has been hoping for.
  • Watching Burr and Kes piss off the other team and maybe even see them improve offensively.
  • Finding out who the new captain is.
  • Possibly watching another prospect make the big team.
  • When Darcy Hordichuk throws down in his first fight.
  • Discovering who can charm me more in the battle of adorable French Canadian accented interviews, Burr VS. Big Bear.

So, who really knows how this season will go.  I still don’t entirely trust AV as head coach, and this will be Gillis’ first season as the Big Dude,  but there are things to look forward to.  They may be small, but they might be what will get me through the season.

5 thoughts on “What I’m Looking Forward To Next Season

  1. They may be small, but they might be what will get me through the season.

    The small things are the best things, you know? If you go into a season only thinking of the big picture, you’re only setting yourself up for a lot of unnecessary angst during the regular season. I think after the way your team treated you last year, they owe you!

  2. If you go into a season only thinking of the big picture, you’re only setting yourself up for a lot of unnecessary angst during the regular season.

    Very true, Pookie.

    And yes, my team owes me A LOT! :D

Leave a Reply

