The Humming Giraffe Turns One!

The other day I was looking something up in my archives, and I realized today is my blog birthday.  When I started, I thought I would write maybe 5 posts in total, so this is pretty cool.  It has been a fun year.  I had no idea this would end up as rewarding as it has, or that I would meet so many fantastic people.  Who knew that I would go from being casually interested in hockey, to being a full on obsessed fan whose emotional well being is tied to the results on the ice.  Or that I would keep my local liquor store comfortably in business.

Thank you to everyone that has stopped by to read.  An extra fist bump to those that comment regularly.  It wouldn’t have been such a fun year if I was sitting here talking to myself.  Thanks to the totally rad Canucks bloggers in particular, who reassured me that everyone who follows the Canucks is a little bit crazy, and that’s OK.  And thanks to all the lovely female fan blogs that I’ve read over the past year that encouraged me to write seriously about hockey, but to also write freely about the players being Hot Bitches.  The hockey blog scene is so awesome, and I’m proud to be a very small part of it.  Here’s to the terrible twos!

19 thoughts on “The Humming Giraffe Turns One!

  1. happy birthday!!! :D

    now, if I had got that t-shirt ready in time… it could have been a bloggy birthday pressie.

    At the rate I’m going it might be a 2nd birthday present! But I am hoping sooner than that :)

  2. Happy blogbirthday, alix! The hockey blogosphere is a far better place for having The Humming Giraffe as part of it! Congrats on such a great year of blogging, and here’s to many, many more!

    Who knew that I would go from being casually interested in hockey, to being a full on obsessed fan whose emotional well being is tied to the results on the ice.

    Heh heh heh. “Mission accomplished,” cackles the hockey blogosphere. :D

  3. Happy blog birthday! Drinks all around! When I come up to Regina to visit my friend, I should make sure to buy you a drink before I leave the prairie.

    *fist bump* way to go girl. We’re women. We can totally multitask. Watch hockey seriously, AND watch the players.

  4. Pookie, thank you. That’s very sweet. And if I hadn’t stumbled upon your blog a year and a few months ago, THG probably wouldn’t exist. So you rawk!

    Anne, thanks for the well wishes. I’ll take good care of Big Bear for you.

    Rinslet, I know! We’re so big now, eh? Hee.

    Kirsten, thanks! It’s pretty awesome that a Wild fan wants to read my blog regularly. Hee. And you should definitely let me know when you’re coming to Regina! I’m pretty close to there so we could totally meet up.

  5. Congrats Alix…our poor team needs all the help it can get. It provides a good balance at the end of the day…I trash them and you say they’re hot. Sure, why not? :)

  6. Thanks, Mike :)

    I trash them and you say they’re hot. Sure, why not? :)

    Hee! Works for me. I do occasionally trash them, but not with quite the style you do. Hee.

    Thanks, Patty! It has been a fun year, eh?

    Thanks, Amy!

    Thanks, Q-girl!

  7. I love this blog. You don’t hate on the Wild any more than you need to, and now I don’t hate on the Canucks so much. It has definitely made this into more of a friendly rivalry. I’ve met so many chill people in the blogosphere that I just don’t know which team to hate any more.

  8. Congratulations on the first year. Most Canucks bloggers are a little nuts, but you’d be hard pressed to find any that are more loyal to their team.

    And if you think it’s fun now, wait till next spring when the Canucks make the playoffs. Then it *really* gets fun.

Leave a Reply

