Canucks/Sabres

I’ve been looking forward to this game since I first saw the schedule.  A large number of my blog friends are Sabres fans, and they’re one of my favourite Eastern teams.  Unfortunately, the Canucks are coming off a hard fought game against the Wings last night, so chances are they will come out tired.  They keep surprising me this season though, so you never know.  The Sabres have to lose some time, right?  It could be tonight. 

A funny statistic: Alex Burrows and Thomas Vanek are tied for points with 5.  Alex Burrows makes $500 000 and Thomas Vanek makes around $10 million.  Heh.  I know Burr won’t keep up this pace, and I know Vanek’s salary was inflated by that nut Kevin Lowe, but it still made me laugh. 

Three quick news items:

I missed Matty Ohlund’s first ever ceremonial faceoff against the Wings!  Stupid inconvenient Eastern start times.  I’m such a bad crazy fangirl. 

The Kyle Wellwood era is over before it could even get rolling.  He was put on waivers today.  Not very surprising.  Wellwood had some beautiful hands, but didn’t come close to fitting in with the new speedy/gritty Canucks, or the NW division in general. 

The Canucks are all wearing bracelets on this road trip that track their circadian rhythms.  Yeah, that’s right.  We’re hippies and we love it. 

First Period.

I got held up at dinner and missed most of the first period.  Thank goodness I did by the sounds of things.  3-0 for the Sabres? Yuck.  I wonder if Sanford was bad or if the rest of the team just wasn’t skating.  The wondertwins and Big Bear did have a couple of good shifts at the end of the period, so maybe there’s hope yet.

After reading the period summary, it sounds like only one goal was Sanford’s fault.  The Canucks have got to get their penalty kill in order, or better yet, STOP TAKING PENALTIES! 2 power play goals in one period is ridiculous.  They’ve come from behind in two games already, so it can be done.  They start the period on the power play, now would be an excellent time for it to actually come through.

2nd period

Well the power play still blows, but WOOOOO Kes! He’s on a roll! 3-1 is much nicer.  There’s still plenty of time.

HOLY HELL!  Sanford looked like Lui there.  How about we don’t give them a freakin breakaway.

How did the refs miss that high stick on Demitra?  Bunch of jerks.  Poor bald dude. 

Now would be a great time for the power play to get a goal.  Or not.  Can the Canucks just start turning down the power play?  They look better 5 on 5.  The power play kills all their momentum.

I don’t like this Kaleta kid.  He’s kind of a douche. 

Ok, I know I just bitched about the power play but how did the refs miss Raymond getting hooked right in front of the net?

WOW.  That hurts the Canucks.  Vanek is disgustingly skilled.

Oh Raymond.  That would have been a good time to actually finish.

Heh.  The defence has disappeared on both sides.  Crazy end to end action.

Holy hell, Demitra.  If you don’t score, I’m going to strangle you.

Well at least they actually looked like real hockey players on that power play.  My heart is racing.  I have NO CLUE how they didn’t score there.  Stupid Crunchy Miller :P

Well, they weren’t as embarassing this period, but they had so many crazy grade A scoring chances that for some insane reason they COULDN’T SCORE ON, it was ridiculous.  After missing all those, I don’t think they are going to pull this one off.

11 thoughts on “Canucks/Sabres

  1. See, this is what happens without that sweet Lui lovin’.

    BUFALLO?? Seriously? I had high hopes over the preseason but had already resigned myself to the inevitable choke. I just didn’t think it would happen until January.

    These road schedules are murderous. I blame Bettman, of course.

  2. That was sad indeed. This team is very bi polar so far. They’ll bounce back, but it’s going to be a very up and down season I think.

    Down with Bettman!

  3. The Canucks are all wearing bracelets on this road trip that track their circadian rhythms. Yeah, that’s right. We’re hippies and we love it.

    That’s completely awesome. Like when I read that I said, out loud to no one, “that’s completely awesome.”

    Yeah Kaleta is being kind of douchey this season. I don’t like it. I love him. LOVE. HIM. but I don’t like this Avery-esque streak. That diving penalty was hopefully a wake-up call to him that the refs are paying attention.

    I AM SO TORN ABOUT THAT BIG BEAR GOAL. TORN.

  4. I don’t like this Kaleta kid. He’s kind of a douche.

    A little bit!!!! But he’s our douche. haha He’s really good at drawing penalties. Really good.

  5. “The Canucks are all wearing bracelets on this road trip that track their circadian rhythms”

    Thank you, I couldn’t figure out what was on Kevin Bieksa’s wrist yesterday. They really do look like watches.

  6. That’s completely awesome. Like when I read that I said, out loud to no one, “that’s completely awesome.”

    Anne, it kind of is, isn’t it? The Canucks might not win a lot this season, but they’ll entertain me in other wacky ways :P

    That diving penalty was hopefully a wake-up call to him that the refs are paying attention.

    I gave that dive a 9.5. If only he rolled around on the ice a little more. Ridiculous.

    AV was PISSED at Shane O’Brien for getting annoyed at Kaleta in his post game interview. Apparently the coaches had it written on a board in the dressing room to ignore him. Hee.

  7. Oh and you know you LOVED that Big Bear goal. Admit it! :D

    Dani, it’s always different when he’s in your sweater isn’t it? Hee. I guess I know what fans of other teams feel about Burrows and Kesler now.

    Clare, glad I could help. Heh. And you got a Bieksa sighting? No fair!

  8. I actually saw a lot of the Canucks but Bieksa was the only one I got a picture with. I noticed the bracelet and couldn’t figure out what it was because it looked like a watch but I knew it wasn’t.

Leave a Reply

