Where We Learn The Canucks Like To Miss The Net

Well that was rough.  Still, 242 minutes without letting in a goal is pretty swoonworthy.  Not so swoonworthy?  The Canucks not being able to hit the freakin net.  It was painful how many times they had an empty net to shoot at and totally missed.  Sadly, Lui can’t score as well boys.  He could walk around Vancouver in a cape, but even he’s not that much of a superhero.  And give Budaj credit.  When the Canucks actually remembered they were real life NHLers and hit the net, Budaj was making some amazing Luongoesque saves.  Sigh.  I hate the Avalanche. 

It was lovely to see the Great Dane back in the lineup.  He slipped back in nicely with Burr and Kes.  They were skating their butts off but couldn’t beat Budaj.  At least Burr scored a very pretty shootout goal.

Damn, Taylor Pyatt looked good tonight.  Scored on the penalty shot, and was overall very decent.  It remains one of life’s mysteries why he doesn’t do that every game.

I want to bronze Wellwood’s hands and display them in my house.  My goodness can he stickhandle and pass the puck.  I think I might have caught myself drooling.  I’m still a bit stunned he didn’t have a goal to show for it. 

Oh Big Bear.  You are breaking my heart.  I want you to succeed so badly because you’re such a sweetheart and your physical play makes me purr.  But you have to start burying those chances, dearest.  You just have to relax and try not to think so much about needing to score.  Go find a yoga studio (There are many in Vancouver), get a smoothie, play with a puppy.  Do what you have to do to mellow out.  Hugs and kisses.

Alright Canucks.  Forget all about Lui’s shutout streak and come out skating against the Leafs and totally blow them out.  Make Sundin cry.  Let me not be embarrassed about you appearing on Hockey Night In Canada.  And I will try not to make eyes at Luke Schenn.  Remember, consistency!

5 thoughts on “Where We Learn The Canucks Like To Miss The Net

  1. You just have to relax and try not to think so much about needing to score. Go find a yoga studio (There are many in Vancouver), get a smoothie, play with a puppy. Do what you have to do to mellow out. Hugs and kisses.

    Come to Buffalo, hang out with Anne, let her worship and adore you. Anne can think of a few ways to relax y-….oh, wait, sorry, got a little carried away there.

  2. Good on you for appreciating Wellwood. He was the best forward last night I thought, and it was good to see Pyatt continually improve (slowly).

    Who is Big Bear? And should he be afraid? :)

  3. Anne, HEE! You would be very willing to devote yourself to the cause, wouldn’t you? :D

    Zandberg, I am a full out Wellwood convert. No more stupid fat jokes from me. I found his After Hours interview very endearing. Plus I don’t think I can insult the Canucks leading goal scorer.

    And Big Bear is Steve Bernier. I don’t think he needs to be afraid. Hee.

  4. I want to bronze Wellwood’s hands and display them in my house.

    Are you gonna cut them off first or just leave him standing there akwardly with his hands encased in bronze? : P

Leave a Reply

