Just A Little Bit Behind

–  That Oilers win was so satisfying.  Sure, that slump was damn annoying but the truth is they were still managing to pick up points even when they were losing.  Then they picked it up just in time to beat down a division rival in a pretty big game.  You have to like that.  They won most of their puck battles and generally kicked ass. 

–  Souray is on my naughty list.  I’d say Matty Ohlund’s hit was a big one, but it wasn’t dirty.  But good for Matty for at least trying.  The penalty box close ups were much appreciated too.  It’s becoming clearer and clearer that Eric Cole and Ohlund really don’t like each other.  At least on the ice.  Heh.

–  I keep expecting Barbie to burn out, but he keeps proving me wrong.  Keep it up Big Barbie!  I can’t wait to see your new Canucks pads/helmet.

–  Oh and the awesomeness of Big Bear in this game was truly compelling.  He’s been one of those guys since he got here that just seems like an absolute doll and I want him to finally put it together so badly and it hasn’t really happened yet.  But maybe skating with Burr and Kes will do it.  He doesn’t have to worry about trying to mesh with the Sedins or anything, he just has to skate hard and crash and bang.  Maybe this will get his confidence back.  Burr and Kes were absolutely smokin too.  Their set ups for Big Bear’s goals were gorgeous.  Who needs the Sedins and Sundin?

–  Mats was solid and survived his first game!  Too be honest, I was still thinking a grievous injury would happen in his first game.  He didn’t get a point, and he started out rusty, but he looked better and better as the game rolled on.  There were some pretty tasty moves he tried on the power play in the third that looked like they would be very promising in the future.  I had to laugh when he started shoving and trash talking with Staios a bit.  He had this huge grin on his face, and looked like he was having a grand old time.  I love that he already got the memo that the Canucks don’t take shit from anyone and he’s already totally on board.  Wellwood looked absolutely delighted to have his buddy back, and was playing damn well inspired.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen him play so well 5 on 5.  The little guy was crashing the net and everything. 

–  What was with the Oilers fans booing him every time he touched the puck?  I mean, Toronto fans should have the right to boo if they want to, but Edmonton fans have no actual personal beef with Mats.  It made them look kind of lame.  Save your booos for Pronger, Oilers fans.  That makes sense.

–  In his post game interview, Mats sounded really happy.  That’s nice to see.  For all this talk about Sundin only signing with Vancouver because it was the only option left, it’s great to see that no, he really did want to be here and he’s happy with his decision.  He sounds revved up, and that can only be a good thing.  Just having him in his first game seemed to give the rest of the guys an extra jump in their skates or something.  It’s the ripplMats effect. 

–  You know about my pro Swede stance around here.  That all Swede power play absolutely delighted me.  So rad.  You never know with AV but I hope that’s reoccurring.  The more Swedes the better.

–  I’ll let you in on a secret.  I can’t stand Dion Phaneuf.  I dislike him more than any NHLer.  He’s a dirty little bastard, I think he’s overrated, and he’s ugly and possibly stupid.  Stortini is close to overtaking Dion as my least favourite NHLer.  He’s a freakin mutant.  Plus whenever I get the Oilers feed, they insist on showing me a hundred close ups of that idiot’s face, and I can only conclude that his mother is the camerawoman, because everyone else knows that face should not be seen close up in HD.    I was getting so angered by him last night constantly running our guys, I was close to calling up Mike Gillis and asking him if I could be the Canucks enforcer for a game.  Now, I probably fight only better than Alex Semin, but that’s how much I loathe Stortini.

–  Jannik Hansen is back up with the team as quick as he left and should be good to go against the Blues.  Thank goodness.  I think that might have been the one and only time I have cursed out Mike Gillis. (at least since June or so)  I’m aware my little rookie was struggling, yet it seemed so awful and sudden.  And I adore him so.  Rookies can’t help but struggle sometimes.  Now all is right with the world again. 

–  Ryan Johnson should play on Friday, which is such good news.  I’ve missed him terribly.  He’s such a sweet, classy dude, and our penalty kill was definitely hurting without him. 

–  Lui is taking shots in practice!  He’s getting closer and closer.  I don’t think he should rush it though.  The backups are doing well, and the other guys are doing their jobs.  He should just wait until after the all star break so he’s extremely fresh for the stretch run into the playoffs.  Regardless of when he’s back, this is obviously good news.  Like it suddenly stopped raining in Vancouver good news.  A lot of little things are starting to come together for the Canucks to have a very strong second half, which is exciting.  This team is better than last year’s by a mile, they love playing with each other, and they’re all grouchy bastards that can bully almost anyone to a win.  My brief but painful history as a Canucks fan leads me to believe somehow they’ll still mess it all up, yet whatever happens, this season has already been infinitely more fun to watch than last season.

6 thoughts on “Just A Little Bit Behind

  1. I was wondering about booing Sundin too. The only things I can think of are the long history of guys leaving Edmonton for more dough but saying it was something else, or the fact that there are actually a lot of Toronto fans… well, anywhere, but especially in Edmonton. If you look at the stands when the Leafs are in town, there’s a lot of blue and white.

    I think Ohlund paid the price for what Mitchell did to Gilbert earlier in the game. There was a lot of hitting from behind after that, and Ohlund’s on Cole was borderline – clean, but borderline. Considering Cole’s had his neck broken earlier, I’m not suprised Souray went after Ohlund, although I’m sure he’s just as surprised about the result as everybody else was. That’s two one-punches in three games now, I think – Penner did it to Landon Wilson a few games ago.

    I laughed at Sundin and Staios going at it too – I was wondering what Staios must have said to get the big guy so riled, usually he’s calmer than that I thought.

    Nice to know Stortini’s doing his job. :-)

  2. Speaking of Phaneuf.. :D Aren’t you happy that he didn’t make the All Star team at all?!!! We don’t have to see his ugly forehead.

    Anyway… :P I wonder how Willie feels about the Cole vs Ohllie rivalry? XD Since he and Cole are like best buddies….

    ;P I can’t stand Stortini’s face either. there’s just something wrong with it… lol

  3. MikeP, that makes sense, re: booing and Ohlund’s fight. You’re probably right.

    Stortini is definitely doing his job :) Heh.

    Rinslet, I was SO happy to hear Phaneuf isn’t going to the all star game.

    Willie must be totally upset Cole and Ohlie just can’t get along. It hurts him so. XD I bet you were happy with the game last night, eh? With Willie’s THREE points. Even though the Canucks lost. Hee hee.

  4. I’ll let you in on a secret. I can’t stand Dion Phaneuf. I dislike him more than any NHLer. He’s a dirty little bastard, I think he’s overrated, and he’s ugly and possibly stupid. Stortini is close to overtaking Dion as my least favourite NHLer. He’s a freakin mutant. Plus whenever I get the Oilers feed, they insist on showing me a hundred close ups of that idiot’s face, and I can only conclude that his mother is the camerawoman, because everyone else knows that face should not be seen close up in HD. I was getting so angered by him last night constantly running our guys, I was close to calling up Mike Gillis and asking him if I could be the Canucks enforcer for a game. Now, I probably fight only better than Alex Semin, but that’s how much I loathe Stortini.

    You know I hate to do this, but you know that you can’t make fun or have any dislike for anyone named Phaneuf in this league, and look at all those words you made Gary Bettman look up (espcially overrated) I regret to inform you that the NHL is suspending your blogging account for seven games, effective immediately.

  5. Yeah. SO HAPPY. At first I was crying foul when Burr stole his 2nd goal. :P but the eventually added it back to him. WOO.

    Mah Willie boy wants to be in the PP!!!

Leave a Reply

