A Study In Pictures

I have no words anymore.  Sorry boys.  No baked goods for you.  I really thought they were finally going to get a win when they were up 3-1.  Sadly, in a span of a few minutes they forgot that this

hockeypuck1

really needs to stay out of here

hockeynet11

Which led me to doing this

headesk1

 

giftbasket11

This little baby here is a get well basket for Matty Ohlund.  Seeing a big old pile of blood all over the ice and hearing he was in the dressing room on a stretcher was not fun.  Luckily, he’s one tough Swede, as AV said in his post game comments, and got stitched up and wanted to go back out.  I may have swooned.

So, the Sedins looked absolutely fantastic.  Pyatt had one of the best games I’ve ever seen him play.  Mats scored a super duper foxy goal on Mason.  Big Bear is having a nice time with Kes and Burr and scored again.  They were gritty and threw down in some fights.  The stupid penalties were for the most part limited.  They came back from a 2 goal deficit.  I guess you could call it one of those “moral” victories.  But still.  ARGHHHH.  The defence and Lui combined are a bit of a disaster.  Lui’s shaking off rust, so you don’t want to pile on him, but yeah.  A less then stellar Lui and a very confused defence is not a pretty picture.  It doesn’t change the fact that they’re still in the middle of a franchise record for home losses and a 5 game losing streak and that their last game before the all star break is against the Sharks.  The possibility of the Sharks game has me looking like this dude here

fearface11

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “A Study In Pictures

  1. awww this post made me so sad. It was really cute though.

    They will get it back together. The Blue Jackets are just on a tear right now. (and I’m not gonna lie, I’m kinda happy for them, having grown up in Ohio and having to listen to people make fun of the CBJs all the time and their fans who are amazing.) But I feel for you in this. I hope your boys go out and lay the SMACK down on the Sharks cuz I can’t stand those guys! (plus that would be a great moral victory..) GO CANUCKS! ;)

    Don’t know if that made any sense at all but I tried.

  2. Being that I’ve been on the bandwagon for such a long period of time, I had grown used to the mid-season slump and always held out faith that it would only take the next game to shake it. Yet now, I’m thinking it’s going to be more than that.

    There was that glimmer of hope that a 3-1 lead could be held, and it was heartening to see that after 4 straight goals, the Canucks got back into the swing of things by tying it up at 5s, but where did all that Mo’ go after that? That killer instinct? I seriously want to see the team go back to what they were doing Game 1 against the Flames where they hit anything that had the puck and moved, they outworked and outhustled them over every inch of the ice, and Hansen dropped the gloves and was tossin’ ’em.

    Then I might have some faith.

  3. Sam, if the Canucks somehow lay the smack down on the Sharks, I will run around my school naked. Heh.

    Chris, the version of this team that played that first game against the Flames was WICKED! Hopefully they can remember how to play that way soon. And yeah, I think you’re right about it taking more than one game. Sigh.

    Zack, yes, yes you can.

  4. if the Canucks somehow lay the smack down on the Sharks, I will run around my school naked. Heh.

    Hey, stranger things have happened. The Sharks will be coming off of an emotionally taxing game against the Red Wings. They just might have their eyes too far ahead… if the Nucks can put a serious effort in, who knows?

    That being said, GO SHARKS! Woo!

    Good luck tonight, alix!

Leave a Reply

