You Know, Bieksa Is Easier To Spell Than Bouwmeester

Here’s a little fact for you to mull over on a Friday night before I hit the town as they say.  Or I say because I’m a nerd. From the Vancouver Sun, which is actually quite a good read about Bieksa.

His $3.75 million cap hit is good value for a defenceman whose all-around game is among the best in hockey. He brings sand to the ice almost every night and does it with some offensive flair.

Here’s the kicker: With a fraction of the hype, Bieksa had just as many points Wednesday as Bouwmeester, the so-called offensive superstar.

“I’m aware of that,” Bieksa said. “I have my thoughts on (Bouwmeester). I’ll keep them to myself.”

So there!  We have our own starting with a B surnamed defenceman that is totally rad already.  And we don’t have to throw 7 million at him in free agency.  In all seriousness, I do like Bouwmeester and his nerdy I’m more like your lab partner than a hockey player thing he’s going on and he is a good defenceman.  I just thought that fact was interesting. It gives Bieska some “you’re a badass praise” and puts the hype about Bouwmeester a little bit into perspective.  Maybe it wouldn’t be the end of the world if we let Edmonton pay him 6-7 million.

You know, I’m starting to think I would look pretty damn good in a Bieksa sweater if Matty Ohlund does leave on July 1…

Leave a Reply

