Valentine


My dearest Canucks,

We’ve been through many years of highs and lows together. This year has mostly been highs and I’ve been bragging to my friends and family about you. I talk at length about how you keep winning games and how happy it makes me. How do I love you? Let me count the ways.

I love opening up my lappytop and pulling up NHL.com and seeing your name at the top of the league.

I love your sparkling +57 goal differential.

I love that you penalty kill like wonderful defensive machines.

I love that Danny is so competitive it looks like he’s trying to go for HIS Art Ross this season.

I love Ryan Kesler’s wrist shot and his 32 goals.

I love Hanky Panky’s witty one liners and that his jersey got my family through customs when we were over our alcohol limit (Shhhh)

I love Hansen interviews with his Minnie Mouse like speaking voice and Samuelsson interviews as well because he sounds like a muppet.

I love that Bieksa’s gone from trade bait to +25.

I love that Roberto Luongo writes poetry and he hasn’t lost in regulation since the first week in December.

I love that Sami Salo is back from yet another catastrophic injury cheerful and calm as always.

I love the bebeh rookies and the old timers.

I love your hip checks, your faceoff wins, your shot blocking, your saves, and your cross ice passes.  I love your top shelf goals and your first passes out of the zone. I love your goal mouth scrambles and your fist bumps on the bench when a guy scores.

I’m yours for the long haul whether you smash my heart like a body check or melt it like your highly efficient power play.  Be mine and win me a big shiny Cup. I would celebrate in style. I could get a gold medal in celebrating.

xoxo Alix

Leave a Reply

